587,663 active members*
3,380 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Z Axis Running Away

Hi All:

I’m new to all this, but I have a problem with my new IH. Got it all put together and started moving the axis, tuning the motors and all, things were going good, but I soon discovered my limit switches were not working, after playing around for awhile I got the X --and X home to work. Next I disconnected all but the X axis limit inputs to my LTP1 port and turned on the power. The Z axis started to move down all on its own, not real fast, and not smooth, I had to hit the E stop. So I reconnected everything like I had it, turned on power, same thing chug chug chug moving down. If I disconnect the motor leads to the Gecko that controls the Z axis I can move the X and Y around just fine, real smooth and fast. Limits still do not work, but every time I put power to Z motor down it goes.

Jay

probably have the step and direction inputs reversed

No, I double checked that. Then I reversed them and the Z axis goes up.

From the encoder there is one wire not being used, i had a problem with it as i'm color blind one is brown and the other green, which one are you using ? I had the wrong one and i don't remember which is which right now, it will run away with power if wrong wire is used, it will be an open circuit.
    Don
    IH v-3 early model owner

I'm using the brown. The head does not really run away it moves down then pauses then moves down some more, and continues until I kill power to it. When I reversed the motor leads it would actually move up stop then move up some more. I guess the weight of the head slowed it down even more going up. I bought a new Gecko to try, I will install it tonight and see if that works, if not I got a spare.
    Thanks

Hey Guys: