587,460 active members*
3,622 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Who can enlighten me how to process ultra-hard material?

Who can enlighten me how to process ultra-hard material?

Hello Everybody,

I am a beginner for machine processing. My foucs is RF/Microwave components, just wanna set up a small lab for precision housing. Who can enlighten me how to process ultra-hard material, like stainless steel, titanium on benchtop milling machine. Are there have some CNC machine can help me? or just have good method and do it on common machine.

Thank you!

TechDoor

Like any machine, you have to take it easier than aluminum or another softer material. Use carbide to cut that stuff. On a benchtop mill, keep slow feeds and speeds. You might even try insert end mills. SPeaking of, you probably won't have the horse power to use large cutters. At work when we mill tougher materials we use carbide inserts with coatings, usually from Iscar. We mill pure tungsten, thats tough stuff.

If it's REALLY hard, I'd just grind. Patience is going to be necessary if you want to mill those materials on a benchtop...

Phantomcow2,
    Thank you so much. Do you know where can find the function among feed, speed, load power...? If keep surface roughness around 0.8, how to do it? Sometimes, tolerance is critical, +/-0.01mm,like dowels position. But process must stop to change inserts, how can I go back to zero point at this critical tolerance?

Grinding need enough patience, I can have a cup of tea... :-)