587,475 active members*
3,686 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

whats a good lathe to buy?

i mainly do hobby type stuff and alot of automobile projects ... i saw the harbor freight mini lathe and its about $490 ish? then theres the taig and sherline , micro mark , and the one offered at littlemachine shop.com , im looking to stick arond the 500-600 ish price line , is there any other better quality lathes out there ..... i like the taig seems to have alot of support and accessories but it seems small , and id like to have the option to do stainless steel type of work ,
    btw im a newb to this stuff ,
    thanks

The Taig is small!!! Do not underestimate just how limiting that can be. On the other hand the Taig is a very good quality lathe sought after by people doing miniature, clock and watch making.

You problem here is that you haven't defined "hobby type stuff". If you read the forums you will realize that such a phrase covers a wide array of things and thus a wide array of tooling requirements. You then throw in automotive stuff which is an even wider array of possibilities. So given this it is very hard to answer your question.