587,645 active members*
3,226 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Solidworks > v-groove bearing mate issue

v-groove bearing mate issue

Greetings,

I have begun the CAD stage of a machine design that I have been working on for the past few months, and am in the process of putting together the assembly of the components I have drafted so far. I am not a new Solidworks user, but I am not a pro either. The problem I'm running into is when I go to mate the v-groove bearings to the linear rail, the part shows the (-) symbol in the assembly tree to denote partially constrained, however I am not able to move the part.

I am mating the 1 conical bearing surface of the bearing to the corresponding face of the 90, and the other conical surface to the opposite face of the 90. Both mates are forced to Tangent which I logically would have thought was correct. If the conical surfaces are being forced to remain tangent to the each side of the 90 degree surface, the bearing should be able to slide along the length.

Something isn't right though, because if you grab the bearing component and try to move it in the assembly space, the part doesn't even spin on its access. I created the bearing using a 3D revolve, and have tried making the linear surface with both a typical solid extrusion and a sheet metal bend and got the same result.

I am using Solidworks 2013 if that helps,

Anyone have any thoughts on why this wont work? Or if there is another way to mate my parts? I would rather not have to create planes and mate that way, because it should work without doing it that way (unless my logic is incorrect or I am over looking something).

Any info anyone can give would be great,
    Thanks!