587,608 active members*
3,507 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Turbocad Deluxe 9.2

ok, please bare with me here, but I found this program for sale for $12.95 at http://www.dirtcheapsoftware.com/turbocaddlx92.html. Now my question is.....is it worth it?? I am just starting out in cnc and I am almost done building my first cnc. I plan on using turbocnc to run my home built cnc. Will this do everything I need. I want to be able to make some drawings of items and maybe import others (pics) that will have be converted from a reg pic to a dwg file and then have it converted over to g-code. I want to be able to do carvings/etchings of scenery and other pics with my cnc. So.....it a good deal?? Or should I stay clear of this?

if they offer demo ware try it out you can t go wrong with try before you buy if it works for you great but keep in mind you get what you pay for , there is a lot of free cad software out there and also geometry to core coverters which will probably do the same look on cnet or search the web i m sure you will find something that will work for you

sorry code converters not core like i posted

I use TurboCad 9.2 and find that it does what I want. I have used Ace converter to get the DXF converted to Gcode. I am also testing NCPlot which will load the DXF and can produce Gcode.

The thing to remember with TurboCad is that the drawing must have had ALL polylines exploded. This means hatch patterns, lines, circles, arcs, rectangles, lettering, etc. Very important.

Explode hatch patterns and lettering, then save the drawing. Reload the drawing and explode againg, then save again. This may seem like a hassle, but it is not really.

Save the Turbocad drawing to a DXF file format. Use Ace converter to change the drawing to Gcode.

Use a simulator like CNC Simulator or use NCPlot to back plot the drawing to a graphic. Make sure all of the lines are visible.