587,887 active members*
3,353 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > Total newbie need help with machine selection

Total newbie need help with machine selection

First, the title says it all - I know very little about CNC machines!

We have a handful of die-cast parts that are currently machined for us on the outside. The machining consists taking up to a 26" diameter part and machining a bore and keyway in the middle of that part. Next, I have to drill and tap two setscrew holes (1/4-20) on the side of the hub (the entire hub is about 3" in diameter), intersecting with the machined bore. The setscrews need to be 90 degrees apart from one another.

Anyway, we are considering bringing this process in-house so I flew into Chicago for the IMTS show this week to learn more about the CNC machines.

From what I've learned, we would use one tool to machine the bore, a second tool to pre-drill the keyway, a third to finish broach the keyway, and then a right angle head to drill the setscrew hole, spindle index that head to drill the other setscrew hole, and finally switch to second right angle head to do the same process but with a tap bit.

This solution would eliminate the need for 5-axis trunions or even indexing tables. It may also allow me to put more than one piece on the machine bed at a time so I could be doing 2 or more pieces per cycle.

The material is aluminum and I want to have a per/piece cycle time of approximately 2 minutes or under.

The machines I identified are the Haas VF3 or the Mori Seiki DuraVertical 1030 (I think thats the model number).

Here's my analysis so far:
    Haas advantages -
    1.) US made so better parts availability
    2). Cheaper
    3.) More versatile if I ever wanted to do other things (more cabinet area and more machining area).
    4.) More popular, larger install base
    Haas disadvantages -