587,475 active members*
3,756 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Tilting Spindle for X1?

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the CNCzone (and benchtop milling) and wanted to ask for some advise, if I could. I recently acquired a Harbor Freight 47158 (Sieg X1) in exchange for some carpentry work. My plan is to convert the mill to cnc in the next few months. But before that, I wanted to upgrade and/or improve upon some of the mechanicals first.

Based on research/reading previous posts, I've already ordered/installed the belt-drive conversion kit from the Little Machine Shop. It made a HUGE difference in noise (much quieter) and spindle speed (much faster). Now, in addition to converting to a belt-drive, the prevailing wisdom seems to suggest I should also get a long table kit (x-axis) as well as the extended y-axis upgrade. But there are two different upgrades available for the y-axis, one of which includes a tilting spindle option. I'm wondering if that's a worthwhile option to get or if I should just go with the standard kit.

Does anyone have experience with the tilting option? Is it worth the extra money; ie, is it useful and/or would it be useful once I've switched to cnc?

I'm kind of a green horn with milling in general (I've got a little bit of experience on a lathe and knee mill, but it's limited) ... so any and all advice will be gladly received.

Thanks - Corey

Hi Corey. Welcome to the Zone!

First of all, this is a TINY mill. Whether it is worth CNCing or not depends on what you need it to do. Now that it has an 8K spindle speed, it may be ok for light duty work like drilling PCBs, but for Steel or even aluminum it can only take light cuts.

Tilting columns can be a PITA--Once you move the angle, you have to tram it all over again. Of course, with the tilting column you don't have to use shims.

It is not very rigid now, with a tilting column it may become even LESS rigid. Most who want to angle drill use a tilting vise or angle table.