587,798 active members*
3,275 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Tabletop controller board questions

I would like I build a simple computer controlled desktop CNC machine. It will be for cutting circuit boards. I realize that saying simple is probably a bit off. This is my first undertaking with stepper motors. It is not my first endeavor into wiring or mechanical projects. I am an engineering technology student at purdue so I should be able to handle it. But I have several questions that I'd like some help with when it comes to motor control.

I would like to build my own board first off. Limit switches would be nice but to start with, but it will not be required. The unit from lintrix has a very nice board but inhave been unable to find the schematic. After I get it running I can cut circuit boards and make a more complicated board or a better one. Probably will make a second machine. The instructable below is what I am loosely basing my project off. The motor controller used is a little odd with the lights but I will include them anyway. But my question is, will this board work well? If not can someone suggest a better schematic to use?

One last question. Can I use this parallel port board with an adapter for USB and not run into problems that can't be overcome?

http://www.instructables.com/id/EJ3KFVBF5R8QRL3/

Any suggestions or tips would be awesome. Hope this is in the right place. I have used search and scrolled through numerous posting but haven't found what I needed.

PurduePete

Sent from my iPhone

That stepper driver is a very simple, low-cost, no-frills unit. While it has its limitations, it may do OK for just getting started, and it will let you get some hands-on experience with stepper motors and with using a small desktop CNC. Later on you may want a more capable driver (for higher speed, microstepping, or other features).

In general, USB to parallel converters are not suitable for use in CNC applications.