587,089 active members*
3,151 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Fanuc > System Variable for Pallet location
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    14

    System Variable for Pallet location

    Does anybody know if there is a system variable assigned to the pallet that is in a machine? (Mori SH-500) We had an operator bone a spindle because "A" pallet was in the machine instead of the "B" pallet. (nuts) I want to write a macro that would read the system variable for the pallet and throw an alarm if the wrong pallet was loaded.

    Thanks,

    Jason

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    988
    For the most part... No. You might have a variable that shows a pallet exists, but not which particular pallet. The control (if at all) will track A/B, 1/2 , etc. But its a simple toggle and for reference.

    A couple ways to do what you're looking for though. You could identify a variable to use that only looks for pallet numbers. Then, depending on how your pallet change program is written, or how you sequence your operations between multiple pallets, will determine how to set up the variable and integers.

    Another way is to use a machine probe. Do you have one? You can install a pin, bore a hole or use a unique feature for each pallet. By probing for the "identifier" first, the machine can confirm that the correct pallet and the correct program is being run.
    It's just a part..... cutter still goes round and round....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    14
    Dang, I figured that since you could see what pallet was in the machine under the Manual APC operation under the Custom menu then it would have a number assigned to it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    75
    I am fairly certain that this information is present in a data table address (D380?), but not written to a macro variable. In the drawings for a SH500 that I have, X12.0 and X12.1 are the inputs that show when the A or B pallet is in the machine. If you can edit the ladder, you could write these to macro addresses (G54) you could read in a part program.
    Paul Sevin - Ovation Engineering, Inc.
    http://www.ovationengineering.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    274
    Quote Originally Posted by Jason812 View Post
    Does anybody know if there is a system variable assigned to the pallet that is in a machine? (Mori SH-500) We had an operator bone a spindle because "A" pallet was in the machine instead of the "B" pallet. (nuts) I want to write a macro that would read the system variable for the pallet and throw an alarm if the wrong pallet was loaded.

    Thanks,

    Jason
    Try this it is for a 16I but should work on most Fanuc. But the assignables for the pallets are Pallet 1 #1002 Pallet 2 #1003.
    These Macros run off the M60 but you could probobly figure out a way to check with just a sub

    Bluesman

    O9001(PALLET CHANGE V1.3)
    (VER 1.3 - FS/16IM,)

    IF[#1002EQ1]GOTO1
    IF[#1003EQ1]GOTO2
    GOTO3
    N1
    G65P9003
    G53
    #525=0
    #524=0
    #520=10000
    M99

    N2
    G65P9002
    G53
    #525=0
    #524=0
    #520=10000
    M99

    N3#3000=10(PALLET CHECK ALARM)
    M30

    O9002(LOAD PALLET #1)
    (VER 1.2 - FS/16IM )
    #33=#4003
    IF[#1002EQ1]GOTO10
    IF[#1003NE1]GOTO20
    M11
    G91G30Z0.0
    G30B0.0
    M10
    M61(PALLET 1)
    N10M11G#33
    M99
    N20#3000=10(PALLET CHECK ALARM)
    M30

    O9003(LOAD PALLET #2)
    (VER 1.2 - FS/16IM )
    #33=#4003
    IF[#1003EQ1]GOTO10
    IF[#1002NE1]GOTO20
    M11
    G91G30Z0.0
    G30B0.0
    M10
    M62(PALLET 2)
    N10M11G#33
    M99
    N20#3000=10(PALLET CHECK ALARM)
    M30

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    263
    Quote Originally Posted by Jason812 View Post
    Does anybody know if there is a system variable assigned to the pallet that is in a machine? (Mori SH-500) We had an operator bone a spindle because "A" pallet was in the machine instead of the "B" pallet. (nuts) I want to write a macro that would read the system variable for the pallet and throw an alarm if the wrong pallet was loaded.

    Thanks,

    Jason
    look in your manual each pallet has a code attached to it
    eg
    M71 pallet A
    M72 pallet B

    M84 Pallet A
    M95 pallet B

    eache machine builder uses different pallet recognition codes
    If you can ENVISION it I can make it

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    338
    I agree with cnc-king, check for and use the M-codes the machine tool builder SHOULD have setup. But also keep in mind what psychomill said. It is possible to take the pallets out of the machine and swap them. Resulting in your pallet ID reversing.
    Quote Originally Posted by psychomill View Post
    For the most part... No. You might have a variable that shows a pallet exists, but not which particular pallet. The control (if at all) will track A/B, 1/2 , etc. But its a simple toggle and for reference.
    In my experience this is what the M-codes go by, not any physical ID of the pallets.

    Dale

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    14
    Thanks everybody for the ideas. I went ahead and assigned a variable that is not used to the pallet change sub and then added two G codes for each pallet to be added to the tool safe line, similar to what Bluesman suggested.

    Here's what I did, it works:

    A pallet #519=1 Parameter #6055=100 G100 code
    B pallet #519=2 Parameter #6056=200 G200 code
    ***********Add the following to the Pallet sub after the M60 before M99
    N10
    IF[#519 EQ 1]GOTO20
    GOTO30

    N20
    #519=2
    GOTO50

    N30
    IF[#519 EQ 2] GOTO40

    N40
    #519=1
    GOT050
    N50

    *********** G100 A pallet check
    O9015
    N10
    IF[#519 EQ 1] GOTO 40

    N20
    IF[#519 NE 1] GOTO30

    N30
    #3000=1(WRONG PALLET IN MACHINE)
    N40
    M99

    *********** G200 B pallet check
    O9016
    N10
    IF[#519 EQ 2] GOTO 40

    N20
    IF[#519 NE 2] GOTO30

    N30
    #3000=1(WRONG PALLET IN MACHINE)
    N40
    M99

Similar Threads

  1. System variable for tool in ready position
    By Dana099 in forum Mazak, Mitsubishi, Mazatrol
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-20-2007, 09:30 PM
  2. Multi pallet machining system...??
    By REVCAM_Bob in forum MetalWork Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-09-2007, 02:18 AM
  3. System variable for spindle tool Fanuc 15m
    By pieface in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-01-2006, 12:37 PM
  4. Map your location
    By Rekd in forum Community Club House
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 10-21-2005, 03:49 AM
  5. location?
    By fastolds in forum Surfcam
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-02-2004, 08:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •