587,267 active members*
3,725 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Hobby Projects > Hobby Discussion > Starting a small business

Starting a small business

Hello everyone. I`d love some recommendations from cnczone experienced users on which machine i should buy. Here is what i need: Im starting a small business in unique candle making. Mold need to be very detailed for these candles, drilled out in industrial foam (for small amount of candles) plastic and aluminium (for larger amount). Im looking for a small scale cnc machine to drill a plug not bigger than ~ 10 cubic inches (or drilling the mold directly w/o plug in aluminium), a 5-axis i guess, but not necessarily as long as it can make very fine and detailed shapes in these materials. As you can see im total newb and i have very little knowledge about machinery itself , but im experienced in CAD.
    Thanks in advance and please do post some links about the machine you recommend

Starting a business huh. Get ready this is gonna get fun.

Hello Dileja,
    I have a small machine shop and encourage every one to start their own company. You will learn a lot about your self in the next several years so DO NOT let any one discourage you.
    I have a recommendation for a direction for you to start in. Looking back on my experience, I would recommend you get with a current candle maker. Even if it's your biggest competitor. They have the machines, finances, know how and experienced people. Focus on your customers and let the experts make the candles for you. Down the road when you are large and have a good following, then start manufacturing. This is why. You have 3 departments to a small business. 1st - sales. 2nd Manufacturing. 3rd office/purchasing dept. I spend all day looking for drill bits, sand paper, boxing orders up and next to no time talking to my customers.