587,401 active members*
3,279 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Spindle design (R8 + Tormach TS)

I got some precision duplex bearings on eBay and thought of trying to build my own spindle, following the footsteps of Jroque (thread: http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showth...?t=7004&page=7).
    I want it to take R8 collets and to allow for automatic tool changes (such as Hoss's ATC in thread: http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showth...=43651&page=11).
    I attached a drawing of what I came up with. Any suggestins are welcome.
    My primary concerns are:
    1. The thermal expansion and how to accomodate for it.
    2. How to make a drawbar mechanism for ATC. I would prefer to use an electric motor based system, as I have no experience with pneumatics...
    3. Is there anything terribly wrong in this design?

Thanks in advance for reviews and comments.

Ivan
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails spindle_design.jpg  

Yes, you are correct, thermal expansion will be a problem with your design.
    Most designs I've seen don't lock on the upper bearings, only the lower.

Quote Originally Posted by ozzie34231 View Post
    Yes, you are correct, thermal expansion will be a problem with your design.
    Most designs I've seen don't lock on the upper bearings, only the lower.
    I thought I did not lock the upper bearings (since I have that spring washer). But it seems that the washer will only help with shaft contraction, not expansion relative to the housing. I guess I need to put a spring washer between the top cap and and the outer races as well. Or, if I only anticipate the shaft to get warmer with respect to housing, I can maybe get rid of the washer at the bottom.

I have updated the drawing.

However, I think I will still have to very accuratelly machine the shaft with respect to the housing, so I might put the old washer back in and have them both. Really, I don't know what I am doing Any help appreciated.

Ivan