587,421 active members*
3,159 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Solsylva 24 x 48 build - new to CNC

Greetings CNC'ers! First off let me apologize for another "I'm a newb and I don't know what I'm doing" threads but I'm hoping that by publicizing my build here that I'll get some sound advice and good motivation.

My wife owns her own business out of the home doing monogrammed gifts of all types and she came to me with a request. One of the things she sells (and sells a lot of) are wooden monograms cut from compressed balsa wood. And since right now she only resells them we thought we'd look into what it would take to make them ourselves. Long story short, I end up in the world of wooden CNC machines and now I think I've gotten more excited about it than my wife. So here goes!

I've been doing a lot of research/reading/learning the last couple of weeks and I've decided to go with the 24x48 Solsylva build. Several factors played into this decision. Cost probably the number one reason but I also was drawn to the fact that I could use a lot of materials from local home improvement stores and because I have a pretty modest set of tools available to me. What I'm hoping to gain is a good foundation so I can make future improvements to the Solsylva or to build another machine altogether. For now I've decided to use the plans with very minimal tweaks just so I can follow the instructions and not burden myself with things I may not completely understand yet. I'll be going with the wooden gantry and Z-carriage versus the aluminum and I'll be going with dual leadscrews and single motor on the X axis.

So to keep me from changing my mind I had to go ahead and get started. Day one I got the frame for the bed assembled.

Solsylva 24x48 build