587,933 active members*
4,130 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > Solids / Surfaces question

Solids / Surfaces question

I'm pretty new to the whole solids and surfaces thing. So forgive me if this is a really elementary question...

If you made a cube out of lines, and then created surfaces on all the sides, then did a Boolean add to the sides, is this the same thing as a solid? I'm trying to get a handle on this stuff, to see how I want to progress when trying to create a 3d part. If it's the same thing, then I know how I want to progress, otherwise I have to come at it differently.

Thanks...

no, it wouldn't be the same thing. What you want to do, is create a square, and then extrude in the direction you want, but the amount you want.

Ah...that becomes a horse of a different color then. Ok, then a stupid question would be:

For machining then, does the CAM portion treat a solid object the same as it would if it were built in a wireframe? Or, is a wireframe not truly a 3D object that can be machined?

Sounds like I need to creat a flat shape, then extrude it to the desired depth, and that will give me a solid, no? Do I have to create a surface before doing that, or will it automatically create the solid for me?

I know...a newbie question. Sorry...

Oh...Thanks!

Oh, dewme5.... thanks for the response. Much appreciated.

I'm not a bob-cad user, and the way different CAM software treats 3d can make a world of difference.