587,087 active members*
2,600 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > small hole drilling & tapping

small hole drilling & tapping

I have been working hard on a peice made from 1/8" alum and I need to drill and tap 4 holes. The thread being 3mm.

What process to use, mill, or drill?
    What size bit?
    2 or 4 flute? Does it really matter?

I have never done this before so....
    Donald

No biggie.

The tap drill for an M-3 X.5 (standard thread) is a 2.5mm drill. I would just use a sharp, standard 2.5mm drill (which will likely drill a hole that's about 2.65 or so) and I would use a three flute, spiral flute tap. The point angle for aluminum is 100 degrees but a standard drill will work beautifully. Start the tap square, use tapping fluid and smooth motion all the way through. If you are really concerned with perfection, drill a little undersize then ream the hole but that's a bit over the top and is not usually necessary below maybe 18mm or 20mm threads.

Everything mentioned can be purchased just about anywhere - MSC is the place I usually get this kind of stuff from. Plus they sell Titex taps which I have used for many years. They also sell Balax which I think is pretty good stuff, too.

Scott
    Consistency is a good thing....unless you're consistently an idiot.

A couple of other issues you could be concerned with.

Do the holes need located to match another part?

Can you transfer punch them? Scribe lines and lay them out for center punching?

If not, you might do them on the mill if you can measure close enough, then setup the mill to locate them properly in relation to the part and each other. Drill and tap each hole on location and square to the surface. Spot/center drilling for a start would be a good idea too. Small drills love to wander off center.