586,060 active members*
4,154 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > MadCAM > Slightly wrong size end result
Page 1 of 2 12

Slightly wrong size end result

I'm sure I'm doing something incredibly stupid, I'm new to this world, I recently got my first hobbyist-CNC (I'm doing small commission works for modelers mainly) and I'm evaluating madcam and meshcam.

I made a small model of about 20x20x10mm with small details of up to 0.5mm. The same model, with the same end-mill sizes and same toolpaths config (roughing + waterling + finishing + outline) comes out very close to the 3D model with meshcam (with a 0.05mm resolution) but pretty bad with madcam (with a 0.3mm resolution). I mean the definition of the model is great with both software, simply madcam is always approx 0.3mm off.

I set the mesh config as suggested in the manual and the tolerance for all tools to 0.01 (I'm working in mm). I also tried other models more or less with the same issue. Oddly enough it seems to always lose approx 0.3mm.

Post processor Mach3.

I searched and I haven't seen this issue on the forum so I'm sure I'm doing something terribly wrong, any guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Re: Slightly wrong size end result

It has to be something wrong in your process. We use madCAM everyday and have for years, and we don't have this issue. Can you post the model, and a description of the tooling you are using? I wouldn't mind reproducing your project to see how it works out for me.

Dan
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Thanks for your reply Dan. I'm sure I'm doing something wrong. I can't publicly publish the model, but it's easily replicable with any relatively small model.

- A simple 20x20x10mm section of pyramid, hollowed with 1.6mm sides thickness and 1mm-radius rounded corners
    - 3.175mm end mill roughing
    - 2mm ball mill waterlining