587,047 active members*
3,251 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Z Axis stalling when plunging slot drill

Smile Z Axis stalling when plunging slot drill

Hi there.
    I am a newbie to this group so forgive me if I don't use the "normal" protocol.

I have recently converted an old U.K.Elliot (Linley U.S.) mini jig borer to CNC and am very pleased with its performance apart from one area which I will detail below.

I am using TurboCad/Cam and Mach 3.

All axis are driven by stepper motors and the machine has accuratly produced a range of items from 1.5 x 3 mm brass componets right up to 4 mild steel locomotive coupling rods just under 8 inches in length and 0.375 thick.

The problem I am having occurs when I try to plunge a slot drill into mild steel or even brass when making a pocket. The Z axis stepper motor intermittantly stalls. I have tried different feed rates and spindle speeds with no sucess. I have also tried different motor settings on Mach 3 motor tuning.

The stepper motor is directly coupled to the quill feed in place of the original handwheel. The quill uses a helical gear to produce the vertical movement.

Is it that the srepper motor I am using has insuffient power?

Things I have considred, but am not sure about:
    * Should I try a reduction gear to produce more torque before going for a more powerful motor.

* Would "pecking" when plunging be a solution, though TurboCam wont let me using pecking with a mill. I would have to insert the G code manually.

I am sure someone must have had a similar problem to this and I am keen to hear from anyone who can help.

Adrian

A quickie...How many steps per unit and what microstepping and what "effort" does it take to turn the handle manually for the same feed... Also how powerful are the drivers and motors......Not much to ask eh?
    Keith

Hi Kipper

Thanks for your response.

Some answers to your questions.