586,688 active members*
2,083 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Bridgeport Machines > Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills > Help...BRIDGEPORT SERIES 1 BOSS...I need advice

Help...BRIDGEPORT SERIES 1 BOSS...I need advice

Hello my name is Joe I am brand new to cnc machining. My experience is limited to manual machining. I am learning auto cad programing at work right now though, I found this machine and was considering buying a CNC machine to produce some gun parts for AR 15 and Heckler & Koch G3 rifles. Mostly scope mounts and other parts like custom stocks.

The machine I believe is a BRIDGEPORT SERIES 1 BOSS CNC. This machine is on a bidding site starting at 3,200.

1. My questions are as it is equipped what would it be worth.

2. Does it appear it is now controlled by the pc

3.Is there any bad parts or problems these machines have other than the original boss controller.

4. The accuracy of this machine stated at (+-.0005) is that Plausible.

5. With my experince stated would this be a stupid purchase for a first CNC machine.

The owners description follows.

Bridgeport factory CNC,retrofitted with Machinemaster control.We used Mastercam to program,but controller has BobCam loaded in it as well.Computer included.Works very well,super high quality,very accurate.(+- .0005").Steppers are amazingly powerful!Approx. 2" diameter z axis screw!X,Y are one inch plus diameter.All are in great mechanical shape.Boxed CHROME ways,automatic RPM adjust,auto brake.Comes with quick change Erickson tooling.2 HP head,variable speed.12"x30" travel!!0-4200 RPM.Auto oiler.Air assist knee.This is more than a hobbiest's machine,but will fit in your garage.These controls are supported with tech help from Machinemaster.Approx.5000 pounds.I can arrange for forklift rental.You pay for rental.If this sells for at least my minimum,I'll split forklift(approx.$200 total).3 phase 220 volt.