586,823 active members*
3,229 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Solidworks > Autocad user has newbie SW/CNC questions

Autocad user has newbie SW/CNC questions

Hello everyone, Rick is the name, and I'm a newbie here and this is my first post. I found this site, beginning my search for CNC information. My trade is drafting/detailing in the architectural millwork/storefixture/cabinetry realms. I've used Autocad for about 10 yrs now, but need to expand my knowledge/skill base in other areas. My boss has Solidworks on one of the computers at work, but I've never used it. I'm fairly versed in Autocad, and it does everything I need, as the projects vary way beyond what cabinet vision or those types of programs provide. But now he is thinking about purchasing a CNC, but what type I have no idea. He thinks SW might be usefull to interface with CNC but I haven't had much experience with CNC, although I spent the last 2 years at another shop, drawing shop plans. Then another person in the department would then take the Autocad files and import them into some type of CNC program for dumping to a floppy for the CNC. I think it was a German PTP machine, but don't remember the name. Anyway,here is the crux of my question.