586,666 active members*
3,568 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    19

    Feed Hold from another thread

    Hi!
    When the command M6 (manual tool change) I want to stop all movement on and off the spindle.


    I use the command StopCoordinatedMotion ();
    But it only works in the main stream. And the external program is M6 - no. Spindle - stop, but no waiting user click button.


    What to do? Thank U

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4047

    Re: Feed Hold from another thread

    Hi Smouk,

    I don't really understand your question. Are you looking for a way from the Spindle being turned on while a Tool Change is in progress? If so how is your spindle controlled? Does it need to be on and hold position during a tool change?

    Regards
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    19

    Re: Feed Hold from another thread

    When a command M6 I run the program (M6.c). It contains:
    - Disable the spindle
    StopCoordinatedMotion ();

    Since I have a manual tool change, I want that to after change tool, operator press the button "feed hold".

    But "Feed Hold" does not work.

    P/S. "Feed Hold" in the initialization file works without problems.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4047

    Re: Feed Hold from another thread

    Hi Smouk,

    StopCoordinatedMotion() should not work any differently no matter what Thread or Program is is called from.

    But it will be ignored by KFLOP if no Motion is in progress (Independent or Coordinated motions).

    I still don't fully understand. It seems you want the Tool Change sequence to FeedHold the GCode so the Operator can release feedhold after performing the (manual) tool change?

    Maybe consider other alternatives:

    #1 add an M0 after the M6 to halt the Gcode

    #2 add a pop up message box with the Gcode to prompt the Operator ie (MSG,Please Load Tool #3)

    #3 generate a pop up prompt from the M6 C code to prompt the User

    #4 Have the M6 C code Halt the Gcode. The operator might then push Cycle Start to continue

    #5 wait for an external button press

    Could any of these work for you?
    Regards
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    19

    Re: Feed Hold from another thread

    Yesterday, I realized that the "feed hold" only works when moving

    I like option 2(#2 add a pop up message box with the Gcode to prompt the Operator ie (MSG,Please Load Tool #3)), could you give an example?

    Thank you very much for your advice!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4047

    Re: Feed Hold from another thread

    Hi Smouk,

    That was an example. Add to your GCode:

    (MSG,Please Load Tool #3)

    When executed it should display:

    Attachment 272198

    Regards
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

Similar Threads

  1. Feed Hold during M80 command
    By Nation in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-05-2012, 10:03 PM
  2. Feed Hold Problem
    By metx in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-30-2009, 05:10 PM
  3. Feed Hold
    By HelicopterJohn in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-25-2008, 03:57 AM
  4. What should Feed Hold actually be??
    By REVCAM_Bob in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-22-2006, 07:04 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •