586,643 active members*
2,636 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Novakon > Flood Coolant Recommendations for Torus?

Flood Coolant Recommendations for Torus?

What is the latest consensus on flood coolant? I remember seeing a bunch of remarks about coolant in various recent threads, but wasn't able to find them.

I will be machining steel, aluminum, titanium, etc. I'm hoping to avoid rusting and coolant going bad if I don't work on the mill for a month.

I'm trying to take advantage of the twice yearly Enco 20% off sale with free shipping, which ends in about 70 minutes (11 PM EST). It looks like they have Trim Microsol 585XT, Trim E206, Trim SOL, and Rustlick WS-5050 on sale.

Titaniumboy

Re: Flood Coolant Recommendations for Torus?

You'll never get consensus, as most people only have experience with one or two. I've been using Rustlick WS-5050 for several years, and am very happy with it.

Regards,
    Ray L.

Ray,

Thanks for the reply. Rustlick WS-5050 sounds good to me. $30.95 per gallon - 20% = $24.76. And free shipping.

Or it would have been. Enco's website went down around 10:30 EST and still isn't up. Hopefully Enco will still honor this deal tomorrow morning...

Another one I plan to try once I finish off my current 5-gallon bucket of Rustlick is Mobilmet S-122.

Regards,
    Ray L.

I think that the Enco website not working for me last night is due to a corrupted cache or cookies on my Safari 7 browser. Still isn't working on this particular computer, but I think I'll have better luck on one of the other computers. Enco said that the 20% off code and the free shipping code would be extended until 11 PM EST tonight.

What advances are you hoping that the Mobilmet will provide over the Rustlick? Cost? Surface finish? Better corrosion protection? Longer sump life?

Quote Originally Posted by Titaniumboy View Post