586,762 active members*
7,390 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Verify my stepper calcs for RF45 conversion

Verify my stepper calcs for RF45 conversion

I am converting an RF45 using steppers (not servos, as I already own a control box with PS, G203Vs and BOB).

This mill will have a
    - one shot oil system
    - lapped ways
    - head counterbalanced with gas struts
    - 2005 ballscrews
    - Geckos 6A max each
    - 16A 50V powersupply

I am a hobbyist and do work every once in a while, so I dont need production feeds and speeds. Most of my work is in aluminum, so I figure:

Roughing cuts would be about 7.5IPM - screw RPM 37.5
    Finish cuts 15IPM - screw RPM 75
    Rapids 200IPM - screw RPM 1000

So...

Seems to me I wont be going over 1000RPM, so any old motor that has "enough" torque from 0-1000 should do fine.

Looking at various NEMA 34 motors 1200, 800 and 600 sizes they have about all the same torque at 1000RPM, but off course, the bigger motor has way more torque at the lower RPMs. Looking at a number of posts that say "bigger is not better" does not seem to apply.

So I am at a loss - what size of motors should I get? Any recommendation for parallel or series wiring?

Re: Verify my stepper calcs for RF45 conversion

You generally want a stepper with the lowest impedance you can find.
    Optimum Stepper Voltage = 32 x (square root of the inductance)
    So inductance around 2.4mH for a 50V powersupply (I think I did the math right).

Some discussion here: http://www.cnczone.com/forums/steppe...selection.html
    7xCNC.com - CNC info for the minilathe (7x10, 7x12, 7x14, 7x16)

Quote Originally Posted by analogman View Post
    I am converting an RF45 using steppers (not servos, as I already own a control box with PS, G203Vs and BOB).

This mill will have a
    - one shot oil system
    - lapped ways
    - head counterbalanced with gas struts
    - 2005 ballscrews