586,745 active members*
6,564 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    187

    Mach3 G28.1 issue...

    Im trying to get g28.1 working on my plasma table build, it's all getting there except for the dro's, here's the code...

    G28.1 z3.00 f250 - probe the surface
    G92 z0 - set DRO zero
    G00 z4 - move to switch offset
    G92 z0 - set DRO zero
    G00 z1 - move to pierce height

    This works perfectly if entered by hand into mach3 one line at a time, however, if run programmatically from g-code it leaves the z axis DRO at some odd reading like 8.4499

    Is there a way to fix this?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    187

    Re: Mach3 G28.1 issue...

    Anyone?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    54

    Re: Mach3 G28.1 issue...

    Maybe try putting some dwells (G4 P100) inbetween lines.

    Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk 2

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    187

    Re: Mach3 G28.1 issue...

    Quote Originally Posted by rbjem View Post
    Maybe try putting some dwells (G4 P100) inbetween lines.

    Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk 2
    I tried that but apart from slowing it down, did not work.

    I have just found this in a thread

    While IsMoving()
    Wend

    After each DRO reset, I will tomorrow when I'm back at work.

    Dave

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538

    Re: Mach3 G28.1 issue...

    You can't use While...IsMoving in the g-code.

    You'd need to create an M code macro containing your code, and use it there.

    Then, in your g-code, you'd have:

    G28.1 z3.00 f250 - probe the surface
    Mxxx

    The M Code would be something like:

    Code "G92 z0"
    While IsMoving()
    Wend

    Code "G00 z4"
    While IsMoving()
    Wend

    Code "G92 z0"
    While IsMoving()
    Wend

    Code "G00 z1"
    While IsMoving()
    Wend
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    187

    Re: Mach3 G28.1 issue...

    Ok, interesting, I will try that

    Where you have "code". I take it that you actually type "code.." In the macro as it is shown?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538

    Re: Mach3 G28.1 issue...

    Exactly as it's shown. Save as Mxxx.m1s, in the \Mach3\macros\yourprofilename\ folder
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    187

    Re: Mach3 G28.1 issue...

    Brilliant, don't suppose you know how to call a macro from within a sheetcam post?


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    187

    Re: Mach3 G28.1 issue...

    All fixed, on the mach3 config page there is a tick box "g28.1 at end of program" this was ticked, don't know what it's for but it upsets the z DRO at the end of a run, clearing it solved the issue.

Similar Threads

  1. Another Mach3 homing issue !
    By mels33 in forum Mach Mill
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-13-2013, 04:55 PM
  2. Mach3/DB25/BoB issue....?
    By gearsoup in forum CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-17-2011, 01:44 AM
  3. Mach3 Backlash Issue
    By strohkirchw in forum Taig Mills / Lathes
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-08-2010, 09:35 PM
  4. Mach3 offset issue
    By u77171 in forum Machines running Mach Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-18-2009, 06:50 PM
  5. Mach3 scale issue
    By Chris64 in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-19-2009, 03:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •