587,168 active members*
3,290 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Is Kflop/Kmotion CNC right for me?

Hi, I'm just getting started with CNC, so please assume I don't know what the heck I'm doing. I have a lot of questions, but most of the hobbyist answers out there are geared toward a Mach3 approach.

I just bought a used 2'x4'x3" 3 axis CNC router that uses a Dewalt 611 router, Nema 23s and a 6b 6560 driver/controller with a parallel interface.
    The original owner used it for wood cutting.

Usage: My main usage is cutting aluminum and MDF in 2.5D and 3D for car parts and molds for fiberglass parts, as well as parts to make a better CNC machine!
    A secondary usage is 3D scanning using a probe (probably a $200 ebay touch probe) to digitize surfaces and bring it back into the CAD software.

I'd like to add a 4th axis in the future and the 6560 board I have supposedly supports it.
    For some parts I want to make I think I'll need 2 sided machining using the pin method.

Pics:
    CNC - Imgur

Attachment 230438Attachment 230440

The only software I've bought is Rhino 4, and I've been using that for over 10 years now. Autodesk 3dsmax and Inventor are also options for me, through school.

I have a couple issues: The [nice] laptop I want to use is 64bit Windows 8, with no parallel port.
    So it seems I have these options:

• Buy an Ethernet smoothstepper and use Mach3
    • Or I could buy the kflop and use KmotionCNC and possibly avoid investing in Mach3 at all
    • Or I could find a docking station with a parallel port, install a 32bit Windows and use Mach3
    • Or ??? (I'd love to hear the wisdom of someone who went down my path!)

I haven't selected a CAM package, but the previous owner said Rhino + MeshCAM worked really well for him.