586,847 active members*
2,290 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

First build from scratch

Hey all, this is going to be my first build straight from scratch including designing structure. I have some knowledge about CNC's due to first owning the ZenToolworks 7x7 kit, then building 2x4' machine from Buildyourcnc.com, and finally I have built a Thing-O-Matic from MakerBot Industries.

I have decided to make this machine wide and low profile if you will. I'm not sure what compelled me to think of this build, but you will notice I have based my design off of the MicroCarve A4.

My main purpose for this machine will be strictly engraving and milling plexiglas. I really dont think I will be milling metal, unless my other CNC's are down. So i'm hoping on very low tolerances, unlike my 2x4' at 2mm tol. due to the bowing(sp).

The machine will be 2 ft. wide by 18in. in length/depth. I will be using 3/4 MDF unless, I can find a place that sells PVC board. It will be held together by those screw barrel connector things. Sorry, I can't think of the official name. And the spindle I will be using is Dremel model 225 flexible shaft. I'm using this for the most wide area cover as I can get. Although my friend brought up the point of not being strong enough to with-hold the power. I said, just remeber its only going to be plexiglas.

I have designed the machine using Solidworks.

**If anyone has any doubts on the designing of this build, please let me know. I'm going out on a limb here**

Tyler
    KL-4530 CNC, KL-6060, 5 3D printers, CNC Fusion Converted LMS Milling Machine, 60w Laser Cutter

(wedge)hi,
    sorry for my opinion but:
    v carving, engraving and cutting plexiglas involves working with micro tooling and even the smallest inaccuracy in the machine will make you break a lot of bits and i am talking about microns here, so:
    1. to me your machine looks nice if it was meant to be from Aluminum