587,828 active members*
2,883 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

How easy is it?

I would really love to get a job in a machine shop. Even if it meant starting out sweeping floors etc. Just to gain knowledge and move up. I eventually plan on going to a trade school for CNC. My questions is. Are there many places out there willing to hire a guy with no expedience? Obviously not a Forman or anything. A trainee. And will actually train and teach. I have basic knowledge of most everything. I would just really like to work in it. And I don't mind having to sweep and clean. Everyone starts somewhere. And I'm not expecting to be paid 15$/hour to do so either. Just wondering if its hard to find a place that is willing to hire someone in a trainee position.

That's how I started, sweeping the floor, from there to the burr bench and on from there. I now own my own shop. In 25 years of machining I have never been out of work. This is one of those jobs where you can go just about anywhere and find work. It's a good trade to be in. All you can do is walk in and ask.

The right shop is hard to find.

Well I have been in the trade for about 15 years if you count votech. The one thing I have noticed is that shops are very hard to find that will actualy give you the time and help you need to become a "real machinist" not a CNC operator. It is best to find a shop that still does manaual machinig in some shape or form like a Bridgeport mill. You will learn more running a manual mill in one year than you can learn operating a CNC mill in 2 years. So that is just my 2 cents. Good luck I love machining and it is a great job so many options once you get into the trade for a while. There are companys that will train you but they are hard to find. Check with your states labor board to see if there are any companies that still have a state sponcered 4 year apprentiship program to become a Journeyman Machinist.