587,777 active members*
2,603 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

rs232\serial port (Voltage)

I am having trouble using a pic programmer. post

And want to rule out the serial port. From what I understand there are different types that use different voltages 5volts ~ 12volts and what to know how to tell the difference.

I have bean searching and searching for info for the command for the serial port in QBasic. Similar to the parallel portOUT,888 1 will give you the high voltage over pins 2, 25.

I thought this would be an easy thing to find. I was wrong!! I’ve found loads of beginners guides, and lots of people getting LEDs to flash with the parallel port but absolutely nothing on the serial port.
    I did find some commands for it in a Linux, but my only experience of using Linux is knoppix which is a bootable Live system on CD so had some trouble understanding it.
    I also found some info for c but as i have never used it before, Perhaps I should start as it’s a proper programming langue, but I like my basic as that was my first contact I ever had with a computer which was a bbc .

Just a trip down memory lane.

If you can help please do
    Thank you jm

jm,

Well I can tell you what to look for on the serial port (DP-9) connector on the back of your computer if it is a fairly recent PC.

If it uses true RS-232 levels you should see somewhere between -8 to -12 VDC between Pin 3 (TX) and Pin 5 (GND) while not transmitting. While transmitting, the TX pin will swing between a negative voltage (-8 to -12 VDC) and a positive voltage (8 to 12 VDC) depending on if the bit it is sending is a “mark” or a “space” (1’s & 0’s talk for the asynchronous type protocol used with RS-232). If using a volt meter to read while transmitting, the display will stutter, probably around 0 VDC.