587,345 active members*
5,484 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > Roughing Toolpath problem!

Roughing Toolpath problem!

Hi,
    I'm quite new to mastercam X3, i'm getting on ok with it, but have come accross a problem i just cant seem to solve.

For a project i'm trying to make some turbine blades. I have the blade file and have created an appropriate stock. I am trying to rough the top surface of the blade using a parallel toolpath.

Mastercam produces the tool path no trouble, but there is a problem with it; when i verify the toolpath and watch the stock being cut away there is a random strip of material left. I have tried to show it as best as i can in the screen shot. As the rest of the blade appears so neatly machined i was wondering why this bit was being left? I have checked the blade file and there is nothing wrong with the profile of the blade so i am at a loss as to where the problem is coming from.

any help would be really appreciated![IMG][/IMG]
    thanks
    will

Hi Will,

I am wondering... Are you using a solid or surfaces to "drive" this toolpath ?

The reason I ask is because I have run into bad toolpaths when created from a solid at times. A reliable solution would be to simply "create surfaces from solid" and use those for drive instead of the solid entity. It sounds silly but it has made all the difference for me in a few situations.

thanks for the quick reply!

I have tried running it with the blade as a solid and also as surfaces, but it still keeps happening. I'm sure it must be something simple, probably just my inexperience.

It works absolutely fine for the finnish cut, just keeps coming up when i rough it.

Quote Originally Posted by billlaws View Post
    Hi,
    I'm quite new to mastercam X3, i'm getting on ok with it, but have come accross a problem i just cant seem to solve.