587,383 active members*
3,716 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > LinuxCNC (formerly EMC2) > Questions about LinuxCNC and its main advantages
Page 1 of 4 123

Questions about LinuxCNC and its main advantages

hello

I am new to the world of LinuxCNC, and I have some questions about it.

1) I have read that LinuxCNC can interface 9 axis. Are these axis are simultaneous true axis? in other words, it can really control a 9 axis CNC machine (or 9 axis robot) which uses all its axis in the same time for complex motions?

2) There are LinuxCNC and Mach, what are the main adnvatages of LinuxCnc over Mach, beside its being opensource?

3) The most important question, what is the maturity of LinuxCnc in motion resolution and accuracy aspects compared to commercial Cnc controllers produced by siemens, beckhoff, fanuc, etc....

thank very much

Re: Questions about LinuxCNC and its main advantages

it has 9 simultaneous axis in gcode (XYZABCUVW) You can map these any way you want. Linuxcnc has kinematics which allows you to convert joint to world mode. (so a 9 joint robot arm can be programmed in normal gcode.)

Linuxcnc is the motion controller running in realtime on the computer. This is 99% good. (sometimes it is an issue finding a computer that runs realtime well) This allows you to have control of the real time subsystem. (and doesn't require expensive external motion controllers)

it is linux - which can be scary to some people. It really shouldn't be - the linux os is as easy to use as windows.

It is stable and any bugs that would cause stability issues would be fixed pretty darn quick. Features on the other hand would require someone to come forward and take it on. (but anyone could because it is open source)

I think you should install Linux first and if you can deal with it then you will be OK if not then use something else. I selected the "something else" option.