586,072 active members*
4,682 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question about Taig Mill

First off... trolls need not answer.

This question has been posted but all of the answers are from years ago.

So of course... noob wanting a cnc mill ( well not a total noob just noob on cnc mills ) I am familiar with Gcode and have cad software.

I am expanding part of my business and wanting to be able to mill out items in my shop instead of having machinist friends do for me. (Firearm manufacture) So milling firearm slides, milling out receivers etc. And yes before anyone asks yes i am a firearm manufacture with the proper licensing.

But anyways..... good ole deepgroove on ebay...... I have looked at little machine shop as well as practical machinist but it seems the following is a good deal::::

Taig 2019CR-ER Cnc Mill
    10 microstepping rev 8 Gecko g540 stepper driver running at 48volts
    This auction includes 6 er16 collets ( 1/16, 1/8, 3/16, 1/4, 5/16, 3/8 ) a Vise, and 2 End mills (1/8 & 3/16 inch) .

Any recent reviews or feedback on this setup?

Thank you in advance for any information on this item.

Re: Question about Taig Mill

my two cents ,
    look at a bigger machine unless you're making plastic parts .

tony

I have used the G540 with Taig Mills a few times. I really like the way the controller makes the mill run.

The only issue I had was the step pulse polarity needed to be Low True pulse or I got position drift.

It has been a few years ago though and there has been no returns for electronics failures.

The main limitation is the 1/4 hp spindle motor. You can only cut so much metal with it.

The pictures show a USB interface board too.

CNC Geckodrive G540 Running Taig Micro Mill ArmPod and SuperCamXp

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	GeckoG540_ProjA2.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	95.9 KB 
ID:	245840