587,613 active members*
3,147 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > Prospective Machinist Seeking Advice

Prospective Machinist Seeking Advice

Hi all, I am considering a career as a CNC/Machinist. I hope it's appropriate to post this here, I am looking for some advice from people who have spent time in this field.

I currently work in technical support and don't like it much. I have an academic degree (Engl/Phil, linguistics and formal logic) but have found that my prospective employment opportunities are corporate in nature - while many of them can potentially pay very well, I don't want to work in an office anymore and have my 'contribution' measured strictly on a spreadsheet.

So I began considering trades and technical vocations. I'm still young enough to go back to school, but I don't want to waste more time in school in a direction that won't get me a job I like. My research, combined with a passion for motorcycles (an industry [particularly the aftermarket] which of course includes many machinists), has led to a great deal of interest in machining, CNC or otherwise.

I live fairly close to BCIT - British Columbia Institute of Technology - and they offer this course: http://www.bcit.ca/study/programs/1525ttdipl.

Does this sound like a course that will give me the training I need to be successful in this field? More generally, are the posters here happy with their careers? Are they satisified with the working conditions and pay? Do you find it fulfilling? If you were making this choice right now, given what you know about the field, would you still choose it?

Thanks very much in advance,

Septimius.

Quote Originally Posted by Septimius View Post
    I live fairly close to BCIT - British Columbia Institute of Technology - and they offer this course: http://www.bcit.ca/study/programs/1525ttdipl.

Does this sound like a course that will give me the training I need to be successful in this field?....