587,436 active members*
3,762 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Planning to build a CNC router

Hello - first post here. Just discovered this site. I have been recently thinking about building a CNC router. Having never done it before it seems easier to go with a plan than thinking it out from scratch. I found the solsylva site and since coming here I see a few people using those plans.

Are there any other designs or plans worth looking at

I'm a newbie too, so please take my comments with a grain of salt.

I bought the solsylva plans. They are really nice, however do not talk about the electronics much at all, so there is much to learn there.

If you are planning to follow plans exactly, then get the plans.

If you are planning to make a modification of the plans, I found the plans almost useless.

I'm free styling my machine based on what I could obtain on e-bay. I'm sure it would have been easier and cheaper to follow plans exactly, however I am enjoying my build.

I'm using basically everything I have read on problems here and making a machine which tries to not recreate the previous screw ups. (Yet... making plenty of screw ups / workarounds myself.)

blue_can,

Three other popular designs are the Rockcliff, JGRO, and Joes CNC Model 2006 and you will find the info for them on CNCzone. There are others out on the internet.

Solsylva plans are intended for first time builders who don't have a lot of tools and the cost is kept low by using locally available parts as much as possible. The general machine designs are good, but the hardware can be improved on.