587,326 active members*
2,676 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Peck drilling problem...need help
Page 1 of 2 12

Peck drilling problem...need help

I'm fairly new to machining but I'm having a problem with peck drilling.

I'm tapping a 1/4-20 hole with a thread former on 6061. The thread former is doing just fine but the drill bit isn't. The drill bit is loading up the tip with aluminum. This is happening on the last few holes of the operation. I have also noticed the tip is getting dull. All this only after 50 or 60 holes.

Here is what I have going on:

1. spot drill
    2. 0.228 drill (I think this is the size...going on memory)
    3. 1/4-20 thread former
    4. approx 7/8" deep hole
    5. 4000 RPM on the drill bit
    6. 9 IPM on the drill bit
    7. peck drill (actually using the chip break program)
    8. 0.05 pecks
    [/LIST]

My speeds and feeds calc says to run the drill bit at 16-18 IPM@4000. Normally I wouldn't have a problem running a test setup but these parts are on there last op and 90% completed. I really don't want to disrupt the flow since this is my only machine.

So I guess my question is this: Should I run the drill bit @ 16-18 IPM and go for it? And what about the peck depth? I know 0.05" is a bit small but I was trying to break the chips up without loading the drill bit with "hairy shavings". Obviously I need to sharpen the bit before continuing.

thanks

I just got done running a similar sized drill in 6061 at 5600rpm and 70ipm. Keep pecking if you want, but make sure you've got good coolant coverage and turn the feed up!

defiantly turn your feed up, you are running about .002" per rev. with a heavier feed you will probably have much better luck.
    "you don't even need cnc if your handy with a torch"

turn your feed up as mentioned and don't use coated drills.
    Good luck

Quote Originally Posted by jlembas View Post