587,481 active members*
3,323 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Not Another Offset Question

Ok... I lied. It IS another stupid offset question

Go easy on me.. I'm still learning but I just can not get my head around the way HAAS handles the Z offset.

I'm only familiar with the Mach software where you loaded your tool into the holder, touched the tool to your work, & clicked Z zero (or something like that). I've been reading for three days and all of the instructions that I have seen for the HAAS require you to add or subtract the position in one line from the offset number in another line... or something like that. Everyone says never use the 'part zero set' for the Z or you will crash. Why is that? What am I missing?

I figure it is cheaper to ask here than break a few tools trying to learn what everyone else seems to already know.

Thanks in advance!
    2000 Haas VF-2 : Tormach PCNC1100 :OneCnc XR5 Pro

You have been reading the wrong stuff.

Here is the sequence I use (Most times):

Push HAND JOG

Push OFFSET

Now you should see either TOOL OFFSET screen or the WORK ZERO OFFSET screen. You can toggle between the two by pushing OFFSET.

Make sure there is no entry in the Z column of the WORK ZERO OFFSET screen.

Toggle back to the TOOL OFFSET screen.

Bring your first tool down to the part using the paper feeler gauge method.

Check that the cursor is on the line for the tool you are touching off.

Push TOOL OFSET MESUR. If you look at the bottom of the screen you will see Z POSITION, the value here will transfer to the line the cursor is on.

Push NEXT TOOL. The machine will change to the next tool and at the same time set the Jog Handle speed back to .01.

(If you push any key between TOOL OFSET MESUR and NEXT TOOL the tool change does not happen.)