586,058 active members*
4,389 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

newbie questions

hey guys, I was hoping you could answer a few questions. I've never used a CNC mill before but it is always something I've been interested in and would be a natural extension of my welding and metal fabrication.

-How do you price jobs? Is there something similar to cutting and welding where you price the total cost of the material, then per inch of cut/weld? Or is it all in the amount of time needed to run the part and the material cost?

-Is it really feasible to learn to operate a machine based on the Tormach workshops and youTube? I saw the book thread and there looks like some good recommendations, but are they really geared for a novice?

-If this turns out to be a terrible idea for me, what is the normal sale price on a used machine? 75% of the new cost? It seems like they are selling pretty quickly.

thank you all for your time.

Re: newbie questions

John has a pretty good "30,000 foot view" on how to go about this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AtFi9OQrBjk

As for used..... Let's see, I flew from Atlanta GA to Ft Collins CO, loaded a machine into a Uhaul and drove 28 hours / 1600 miles home with a used machine.... Purchased it within 12 hours of the guy posting it. So yeah, for a new clean used machine..... 60% to 70% of what you have in it. I would have been willing to pay more if it had been within a couple of hours drive.
    The Body Armor Dude - Andrew

thanks for the youtube video. Colorado is quite the drive, I live in Augusta and was just out there this summer. is this your first CNC mill?

Quote Originally Posted by just_james View Post
    thanks for the youtube video. Colorado is quite the drive, I live in Augusta and was just out there this summer. is this your first CNC mill?