587,372 active members*
4,062 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Newbie in need of help with inexpensive cnc machine

Newbie in need of help with inexpensive cnc machine

I am very new to cnc and have been reading up as much as I could in the last 3-4 days in regards to build design and the parts that are needed.

I constantly create computer parts in cad (fan grills, case parts, adaptors, some watercooling parts, etc)
    Almost all of it can be made out of 1-2mm aluminum, copper, or stainless steel.

Ultimately I'd like to build a cnc machine that can mill these parts out to my specs.

Since I'm new to the cnc angle, but not the cad angle, I'll throw out all the questions that make me scratch my head.

Can a small cnc with a dremel work fine for milling 1-2mm aluminum?
    If not a dremel, what about a rotozip? (I have both, so I would prefer not to pickup additional tools)

Is it the torque of the step-motor that gives a proper cut or is it the stability-speed of the tool on the z-axis?

Can I get away with a very small diy cnc machine in the diy $150-300 range?
    Would this be appropriate to cut aluminum?

http://www.bluumax.com/3_Axis_Machine.html

Any info would be wonderful.

Thanks,
    Eddie

Im not sure you will be able to get away with bulding the entire machine with that budget but it can be done. The slides, ballscrews, and motors are what jack the price up. If you decide to go the homegrown path, you will be sacrificing accuracy and from what it sounds like, you are looking for a pretty accurate machine. Good Luck

Hi Eddie. Welcome to the Zone!

Cutting metal requires a certain minimum level of rigidity and accuracy. The most bang for the buck in a reliable and capable nearly-ready-to-go CNC mill that will do what you need is the $1700 Deepgroove1 Taig/Gecko machine: (Some assembly required)

http://deepgroove1.com/cncmill.htm