587,192 active members*
2,414 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > New Machine(s) quandry. Advice sought.

New Machine(s) quandry. Advice sought.

Background:
    I worked as a machinist years ago (not an operator, but a crank turning, DRO reading old-school machinist) on full sized equipment cutting mostly stainless and plastics, all dry. I play at it still at home and have a Grizzly 12x37" 2hp lathe that just has a DRO, and a modified tail stock for "speed drilling". I also have a Grizzly G1006 2hp Mill drill that I converted to ball screws and Servo CNC with a 4 axis Gecko based controller from Dan Mauch.

Where I am now:
    I'm making parts for Radio control airplanes/tanks/miniature I/C engines and some custom race car stuff, and MOST of the parts are very small and aluminum. Many of the mill parts are less than a 4x4" and much of that less than .250 thick. I tend to cut everything with cutters .250 and under. On the lathe, much of it is less than .500 diameter and less than 6" long (I do deep drilling on the lathe though). I still think like a production machinist, and get a little frustrated at how long it takes me to make parts with my slow machines. I think both the lathe and mill drill are overkill and the spindle speeds are too slow (The Mill doesn't seem that rigid anyway). I want to CNC the lathe, but don't want to spend the money for the bigger parts and capacity I will rarely use, and still have a slow machine that I can't really use manually anymore

So, here's the questions:
    I want to have better accuracy, and higher speed for both lathe and mill. Both have to be servo since I already have a good controller. Given my desire to cut much faster, and since I'm cutting small aluminum pieces mostly, do I: