587,485 active members*
3,669 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question Miscalculation?

I just blew a wad of cash ordering my mill (LMS HiTorque) and CNC Fusion conversion kit.

I have yet to decide on what to do about electronics, as it seems that every time I decide, I find a better option (or discover a problem with the decision I made). So it's time to ask for some advice, since I'm a total newbie to machining (I'm an electrical/software engineer by day).

Prior to this, I was simply debating using a G540 w/4 channels, or purchasing some low/mid Keling stepper drivers and a breakout board. On the other hand, I'd love to get my hands on the KFLOP (but the KANALOG seems to be out of stock, not to mention pricey. And I kinda want to use EMC2 instead of Mach3) For now, I don't mind using a breakout board - as long as I have enough inputs to implement things such as Auto-zero/probing, limits/homing, etc.

I'm only planning on working with aluminum and delrin, and I have plenty of patience. This machine will *Very* soon have a 4th axis, and possibly even a 5th axis/trunnion table - so I'd like to make sure I can upgrade/expand my electronics. I want this machine to have as many features as I can pack into it.

But the real problem may be the motors I ordered from ebay, a set of 3 425oz-in motors ebay. But I've since realized two issues:

* An 8mm shaft for the front side of the motor (which I specified for the heli-cal coulplers from CNC fusion!)
    * The Phase inductance is 6.8mH, and the motor is rated at 3A per phase.

:violin:

Initially, I thought all stepper motors just required as much voltage as you could give them to get the torque you want, and simply limit the current to keep from burning them up...