587,087 active members*
2,969 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

mazak t32-2 lathe scared to reinitialize.

I have a 1991 mazak lathe t32-2 control. Machine was running fine on friday come in on monday and machine is not running the way it was. first let me explain my set up, running 3 programs link together 1st prog. facing and center drill, 2nd prog. tail stock activated 1st O.D. roughing tool comes out and starts turning. problem is whatever nose radius I have listed in my tool data the tool rapids into the side of the part on the minus side of z-0. My parameter for end face clearance is set at .03 U5 para. Its like it is not recognizing the parameter but only on my turning tools with radius. Any ideas or suggestions. I have erased my tool data and program files using -9999 and still no luck. Mazak and Mitsubishi are both stumped so I am hoping you guys may be of help. I am a newbie to the forum but I have 23 years of experience on mazak from t2 to t+ controls. oh and BTW we only have one shift so no one else would have messed with any parameters.

I've learned that when "strange" things start happening, it's time to initialize.
    T32 systems are one of the easiest to do because the parameters are on the EEPROM.

Make sure you save the current parameters to the EEPROM first to ensure that what's on there is current.

Mazak has a good service bulletin on initializing this system.

reinitialize

yeah i have the service bulletin on doing it and we also have the micro-disk, but I have never done it in the 23 years Ive been here. tried everything else so I guess I will have to. thanks for your thoughts.