587,421 active members*
3,195 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > Machining ABS Plastic - G Wizard Question

Machining ABS Plastic - G Wizard Question

Evening Tormach'ers,

I am getting ready to set up some fixtures to machine my Kydex holster parts and need to machine & drill some 1/4" ABS plastic.

Drill sizes are 3/16" and 1/4" and two flute HSS endmill is 3/16"

What kind of feeds and speeds would folks recommend?

As for G Wizard...... as a total newbie, would folks recommend I get a seat of G Wizard software for helping me with feeds and speeds for other projects or do I do better searching the Ol interweb? I know Bob is a great supporter of this site and is a super great guy from what I hear. It seems like his software would at least give me good starting points....

Happy Labor Day weekend to my fellow USA family. I'm actually thinking of taking the whole three day weekend off for the first time in years (other than some house work and playing on the Tormach)!

Thanks,
    Awall
    The Body Armor Dude - Andrew

Re: Machining ABS Plastic - G Wizard Question

Give GWizard a miss. It has a number of faults/bugs that Bob believes are just "lack of feature". Here is the link to a discussion about it:
    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/tormac...c-tormach.html

I have since found HSM Adviser to be far more reliable and more capable.

Good luck.

I second bevinp's assessment of GWizard. I gave up on it years ago, and have been using HSMAdvisor with zero problems.

I've never machined ABS, bit I'd expect it to be pretty similar to Delrin, which I treat pretty much like aluminum.

Regards,
    Ray L.

The secret to machining ABS plastic or Deleon is to have REALLY SHARP CUTTERS. Until recently, carbide cutters weren't sharp enough so I always used HSS.
    You can buy GOOD PARTS or you can buy CHEAP PARTS, but you can't buy GOOD CHEAP PARTS.