587,852 active members*
3,898 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question Looking at Taig Mill: Need Help

Hello Everybody, My name is Jason Pasierski and I'm a college student attending New Jersey Institute Of Technology of Newark. I own a small business that I started a few years ago. My work involves milling paintball "parts" and designing new products. I have been struggling with a "so-called" mill being a Drill press with a x/y table, you know that sad story.

The work I do is on a small basis, The largest thing I would ever mill would be no more then 6x6x1 aluminum (I only work with aluminum), everything else I mill out is just pockets, holes and I would mill out custom made valves.

I have been looking at the Taig mill for over year now, never bought it last year Like I wanted to to. Something has to change and I need to upgrade (starting small) for my business to grow. The Taig Mill is the perfect size for what I need, I don't need anything bigger right now. In later years ok, sure, but now...it's perfect.

I was referred to Cartertools for the Taig and have seen the page when I was interested last year.

So What I have and Access too:
    - I'm in a controversy if I go ahead and get the basic "Manual" model with spindle, Yadada or do I go ahead and get the CNC "Ready".

-At the moment I'm only looking to spend no more then 1200. With that said, I have no problem upgrading the machine next spring/summer to full CNC (My job allows me to make more then enough money to upgrade)

-So it's obvious I don't want to spend all my money at once, I would like to use the machine and then upgrade it for CNC (It may cost more money in the end, but over time, it's easier to do)

-When upgrading later on, getting motor and what not, are the motors already wired to plug into the controller? Just asking.

So help me out, What do you think is a good move. Right now I can't just spend 2,000 dollar or 1,500 it's just too much.

-Jason@SpeedsCustom