587,661 active members*
3,411 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Lathe tool select

I'm just getting started with a Dolphin and Mach 3 lathe set up but I have a small problem with the tool select command.

When I run the post processor I get something like:

N60 ( Standard Turning Tool )
    N70 M06 T1 G43 H1

Mach 3 doesn't seem to recognise T1 as a tool change command. If I manually change it to T0101 (or T0201, or whatever) then it works as it should.
    Shouldn't the post processor (I'm using T_Mach3Rcss.ppx for radius mode) output the tool number and offset number in the code? Or am I missing something.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated as I've spent the last three hours trying to find a solution on my own.

Hello,

Strange how this hasn't been an issue before, I wonder if it's something to do with the MACH setup on your PC.

We can easily change the post if that is required, perhaps one of the MACH3 gurus here can shed any light on this.

ATB
    Andre

Mach Turn requires the tool call in the T**** format and any post processor I have used with Dolphin Turn has used that.
    In the very early days of Mach 2 Turn then I think the M6T* but that was a long time ago, probably 7 or more years.

Hood

Hood is the Man!
    It does sound like the post is not outputting what you need. Hood is the guy that reined in my PP to work with Dolphin and I get exactly what I expect every time now. Lots of different ways to setup and run a lathe. It is great when you have a post that is adjusted correctly for what you need. You have to know what and how to change things and after working on mine with Hood, I dove in and can now change a couple parameters in a PP.

Open one up and have a look around in it. If you change anything at all, change the name too. You have to be careful with them, but they are easily edited.
    Lee

Thank you for the replies.