587,698 active members*
3,416 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Kiwa excel 510 toolchange HELP!!

Hi there,

As my title already showed, I have a problem with my KIWA excel 510. The machine was build in 1990 with a fanuc OM control system. The machine has a carousel with 16 tools vertically placed.

I must admit I am new in the cnc world and because a lack of good machine documentation and experience, I accidently modified/deleted the toolchange macro (O9001).

After a good search I found some useful information, so I was able to program a part of the macro back in the system. Now when I call in the toolchange progam (T01 M16) the following happens:

The carousel comes forward, picks out the present tool, drops down, rotates to the new tool and comes to a hold. So it stays in the drop down position.

TOOL CHANGE MACRO:

O9001;
    G80 G40 M9;
    G91 G30 Z0 M19;
    M6 T#149;
    M99;

I know something is missing but don't see what. Maybe someone has the same machine with a good macro? All suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Ben
    The Netherlands

Does the control call the 9001 program with the M6 code? Does the new tool actually get clamped then just sits there?

Stevo

Quote Originally Posted by stevo1 View Post
    Does the control call the 9001 program with the M6 code? Does the new tool actually get clamped then just sits there?

Stevo
    Hi Stevo,

Thanks for your reply! The control does call the 9001 program. On my machine I call it with T01 M16

When ik call the program the toolchange starts:

Carrousel comes forward and picks out the current tool,
    Rotates to the next holder and then comes to a hold.

So it should be moving upward to clamp the new tool and then retract the
    carrousel, this doesn't happen.

When I'm in jog mode at toolchange position (G30 Z0) the whole cycle works fine. I know something is wrong with the code.

Ben