587,132 active members*
2,975 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Jogs slow in all modes

I am setting up my DeskCnc software for a CNC Plasma table and when I jog in slow,med or fast the motors all move at a snails pace. I am new to this and don't know much about setting up the parameters in DeskCnc. Where should I start?
    Thanks

1) have you determined the spi (steps per inch of servo / stepper revolution) ? What is your encoder count per rev?

2)Open desk CNC with the controller energized.then go to Machine Set up and then to Machine Velocities these are suggested settings to get you going you must do the math for the machine you own.
    Machine velocities (sps) Acceleration= 125,000
    Accel scale= 10
    Max Velocity=25000
    Start Velocity= 250
    click 60-125,000 sps.
    click save and close Desk CNC

Then re-open
    and go back to machine set up, click Axis Set up
    X axis I just put 0.00 for Home and Home offset

then steps per inch= your calculated spi ( E mail me if you have a problem with spi)

Max vel( sps) = 25000 ( or you can try higher..again it depends on the machine, reduction and lead screw) do not exceed 50,000 sps and it should match your max velocity in machine velocities set up. click save and close Desk CNC.

do the same in Y and Z axis if the reduction and lead screw are all the same numbers.

If you are still having problems, E mail me with the encoder count,reduction to the lead screw and the lead count, and hopefully we can send the right set up to you...I will admit the initial Desk CNC set up was very hard for me
    ( Klutz-Newbie), but after doing it correct, the machines will haul a__

Also, Fred Smith at IM Machining ( [email protected]) has out lined all of the above, and it can be down-loaded at no cost..including a step by step procedure of trouble shooting and supported G codes..If your going to use Desk CNC, you need that info, it is very helpful, especially the G -code syntax