587,772 active members*
3,345 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    37

    Jerky Movement on Interact 1 MK2

    Hi All,

    When machining a part, my machine pauses for ~1 second after each linear movement and then starts again. Does anyone know what the cause is and if it could be corrected? I have attached a picture showing two cases, first where the movement is smooth and second where the machine pauses between linear paths.

    I have a TNC 2500 on the machine.

    Pali
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Movement.jpg  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    55
    Put a small radius on all intersecting lines and machine should go all the way round without pausing, dont know why but it works for me.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    37
    bigbaz,

    I know that adding radius at the end of each linear path would make the operation smooth but I am hoping that there is a way to achieve continues motion with straight linear paths. I machine many parts with pockets that are entirely linear paths at multiple DOC so the pause time adds up significantly.

    Pali

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    55
    the radius you use can be so small that it cannot be seen on the part but will give you what you want.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1121

    re

    first, if you are using 1 axis moves[X 3.00 F100 etc] rather than interpolations[L x3.00 etc] don't.

    If that isn't it, is there a parameter for positive stop at corners ?

    Also, slow accel parameters can make it appear to stop, when it actually isn't it is just ramping for a long time.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    37
    Agreed. But...

    I use CAM to generate the code as these are complex parts. It would not be efficient to add curves to programs that contain 2000+ lines. Just imagine a rectangle pocket that has 10 tool steps at 5 different DOCs. This means that I would have to add 10 x 4 x 5 = 200 curves. Even if I was able to add the radius at each of these locations, I would end up consuming so much more memory for the program.

    I can understand if there is no way to achieve continuous motion for linear movements with the setup on my machine but I don't know if this is the case. I guess my question should be if it is possible to eliminate the pause for linear movements via parameters or tunning?

    I appreciate your help bigbaz.

    Regards,

    Pali

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    37
    Gus,

    I just noticed your post after replying to bigbaz's comments. I am not using single axis movements, see code below.

    Smooth Movements with the following code:
    14 L Y-1.3100
    15 CC X+1.9710 Y-1.3100
    16 C X+1.9710 Y-1.6325 DR-
    17 L X+.1250
    18 CC X+.1250 Y-1.3100
    19 C X-0.1975 Y-1.3100 DR-
    20 L Y-0.1250
    21 CC X+.1250 Y-0.1250
    22 C X+.1250 Y+.1975 DR-
    23 L X+1.9710
    24 CC X+1.9710 Y+.2475

    Jerky Movements with the following code:
    9 L X+.9007 F+220
    10 L Y-0.8332
    11 L X+1.1953
    12 L Y-0.6019
    13 L Y-0.4144
    14 L X+.7132 Y-0.4143
    15 L Y-1.0207
    16 L X+1.3828
    17 L Y-0.4145
    18 L X+1.1953 Y-0.4144
    19 L Z+.0500
    20 L X+3.6953 Y-0.6019

    I will check the parameters descriptions to see if there are options for positive stop and slow accel.

    Regards,
    Pali

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    37
    Found a parameter for "Constant path speed at corners" which can be set between 0 - 179.99. My machine is set to 1.

    Does anyone know what exactly this parameter controls?

    Pali

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1121

    re

    set it to 90 and see if it helps. careful with rapids, you may get gross positioning errors as it tries to remain constant at a rapid feed. Otherwise it won't give you any trouble.

    accel parameters are in MM/min IIRC


    also you don't need all that cc bs, RND will do the trick

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    37
    gus,

    The acceleration for all 3 axis is set to .2 m/s2. It can be set from .001 to 3.0 m/s2.

    Do you think this is too slow?

    Regards,

    Pali

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1121
    It is not horrible, could be faster, my retroed machine runs between 2.3 -2.5

Similar Threads

  1. No Movement
    By wishmasterg in forum Mach Mill
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-15-2007, 01:39 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-15-2007, 09:23 PM
  3. Jerky Z axis????
    By bill south in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-10-2006, 03:33 PM
  4. Bridges & jerky movements.
    By Moondog in forum Machines running Mach Software
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 07-30-2006, 04:28 AM
  5. jerky toolpath from rhino model
    By senor J. in forum Rhino 3D
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-08-2005, 12:36 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •