587,473 active members*
3,530 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Phase Converters > Induction Motor/VFD Newb Question

Induction Motor/VFD Newb Question

I have a Bridgeport clone with a Taiwanese motor that has the label shown in the pic. I ordered a Hitachi SJ200-015 VFD.

What I don't know is how to wire it. The motor is two speed, 2 pole and 4 pole. Which speed is which pole arrangement? 2 Pole 3450 or 4 pole 3450?

What are step pulley Bridgeport users doing, put the belts in highest speed configuration and controlling from there, or some other combination?

Sorry to be so dense, I'm a machinist, not an electrical guy!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DSC_2232.jpg  

2 pole is 3450rpm & 4 pole is 1750 rpm, you could wire it in 4 pole and run up to 120hz, this will double the 4 pole speed.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

The motor nameplate is less informative than normally seen on US made motors, so I am giving verbal interpretation to assist. I hope that is what you were asking.

For 2 pole operation, 3400 RPM, connect leads U1, V1 & W1 together, tape to insulate. Tie the power leads from the VFD to U2, V2 & W2 individually & tape to insulate.

For 4 pole operation, 1700 RPM, keep leads U2, V2 & W2 separate & taped. Tie the power leads from the VFD to U1, V1 & W1 individually & tape to insulate.

Quote Originally Posted by jimbo7 View Post
    I hope that is what you were asking.
    That's exactly what I was asking, along with what Al said. I'll try 4 pole and see how it goes.

I ultimately want to hook this up to the 0-10v output of my SmoothStepper/CNC4PC C23 combo to control it, but I'm a ways from that just yet. I'll control it manually for now and not have to run my RPC!

I may be back when I get to doing it as, like I said, I'm pretty green on the electrical end!

Question ?