587,103 active members*
4,399 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > Environmental / Alternate Energy > How Does CNC Routing Compare to Traditional Powertools Ecologically?

Question How Does CNC Routing Compare to Traditional Powertools Ecologically?

Hello,

I am a designer/builder & permaculturist now prototyping a garden product I think will be a big seller based on the feedback I'm getting. I'm now looking at the manufacturing process and debating whether to go CNC, or just using traditional power shop tools, in this case a Festool circular saw, drill-press and biscuit grinder. The product pieces which are made of plywood are simple enough that the power tools have worked fine in building the prototypes, though I'm definitely seeing the advantages of automating the manufacture and hoping to help fund some intrepid DIYer doing free energy research with their CNC router via paying them to make my parts.

So my question is this: does anyone know the difference in terms of ecological impact of using one method over the other? Thanks.

While I haven't made a study of it

I don't see a lot of difference in terms of ecological impact between making wood products with a CNC machine and making them with regular power tools. Of course, if you get more product out of your materials, for instance by nesting the parts you're cutting out, that would be a point for the CNC machine. But if you're running the CNC machine constantly but the other tools intermittantly, that power saved would be a point for the semi-hand-made method.

If you can use fewer workers by utilizing CNC technology, then you can't be blamed for the impact the workers you didn't hire have on the environment. And unemployed people probably drive less, and don't eat as much meat, so I suppose you could take credit for that, although it might not be a very popular claim to make right now...

Andrew Werby