587,754 active members*
2,847 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > How do I use these lathe cutting tools? (What cutting tool is for what operation?)

Hybrid View

Question How do I use these lathe cutting tools? (What cutting tool is for what operation?)

Hi. I could need some advice from you gurus in here on how to use my lathe cutting tools properly. I am a beginner when it comes to using a lathe! I have a Sieg lathe and some lathe tools that I purchased from Little Machine Shop as well as the red Chinese cutting tools that came with the machine.

I have so many tools that I don't know what tool to use. How do I select tools properly for normal lathe operations?

What I intend to do is to turn down some alu rod to make axles of proper diameter for small stepper motor projects and hobby robotic projects. I also want to turn down some plastic material for making knobs etc.

I have some fairly basic questions:

See images of the lathe tools that I have at hand (click for larger size).
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2960_w800_cpd.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	101.7 KB 
ID:	174109

Name:	IMG_2957_w800_cpd.jpg 
Size:	99.7 KB 
ID:	174110

Q1) Is it better to use the A1, B1, C1, D1, E1 style cutting tools than the red ones (A-J) that came with the machine?

Are the ones with the exchangeable cutting tips better than the red ones?

I have read that the carbide material in the tips of the red tools is not of a good quality. Someone told me that he used the triangle ones that are exchangeable.

Q2) What are the correct use of A1, B1, C1 style tools? What are the different angles for? What angle is the correct one for different lathe operations?

Name:	IMG_2960_w800_cpd.jpg 
Size:	101.7 KB 
ID:	174109

Q3)How do I properly angle the A1, B1, C1 style tools for turning down an alu rod?