586,065 active members*
4,842 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > How deep have folks cut with a slitting saw?

How deep have folks cut with a slitting saw?

I have a job where I need to make slits 1/4" wide by 2" deep in 1/2" x 1 1/2" 6061 aluminum flat bar and was looking at getting a slitting saw (Probably a Tormach TTS arbor).
    Has anyone cut at such a depth?
    I am thinking of getting a 1/8" thick slitting saw to do the job (though a 1/4" thick would make more sense). If I use a 1" thick arbor, I will need a saw that is at least 5" in diameter to do the job.
    What were your challenges (if any)?
    Any saw recommendations if I go this route?
    I was a woodworker in a past life so I may be approaching this from that mentality. I could use a 1/4" end mill to cut in the 1 1/2" depth direction instead of using a slitting saw in from the side.
    Thanks so much,
    CR

Re: How deep have folks cut with a slitting saw?

Have never done that but in considering how I would do that my thoughts would be to use a table saw which sounds like you already have and make multiple passes to get your depth and width, you would use a carbide toothed blade. If I had a end mill with sufficient flute length then that would be the way I would go but not in a single pass.

Ken

Quote Originally Posted by CadRhino View Post
    I have a job where I need to make slits 1/4" wide by 2" deep in 1/2" x 1 1/2" 6061 aluminum flat bar and was looking at getting a slitting saw (Probably a Tormach TTS arbor).
    Has anyone cut at such a depth?
    I am thinking of getting a 1/8" thick slitting saw to do the job (though a 1/4" thick would make more sense). If I use a 1" thick arbor, I will need a saw that is at least 5" in diameter to do the job.
    What were your challenges (if any)?
    Any saw recommendations if I go this route?