587,933 active members*
4,415 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Cool Homemade cnc in the dining room!

Hi everyone,
    I'm pretty new to this, but I thought it would be a good to share what I'm doing, maybe get some advice, and meet some friendly faces in the know!
    I'm 15 and have a particular interest in engineering and electronics. In have dedicated my spare time for the past month or so to building my own cmc router! I don't even know how possible this is, so any success stories would be appreciated! I am building it on the frame of my old bunk bed, also using v-track and plenty of 80/20 for the gantry frame. For power I have chosen belt drives and nema 23 motors. Here are a few pictures of the progress, lots more to come. I am waiting on my next delivery and then I'll be off again on my next building spree. I still have the belt drives and motors to install, and also the tricky z-axis and balls screw! Look forward to hearing from you, here's come photos so far.
    Attachment 233932
    Attachment 233938
    Attachment 233936
    Attachment 233940
    Hopefully that worked?

Re: Homemade cmc in the dining room!

Nice progress. Seems that you will use CNC bed as a dinning table when required. Hope you have no wife that take care the dinning area.
    http://free3dscans.blogspot.com/ http://my-woodcarving.blogspot.com/
    http://my-diysolarwind.blogspot.com/

Re: Homemade cnc in the dining room!

Thanks, I have the motors sitting in the back too, I'm looking forward to mounting those asap. Haha, yes, for a nice christmas dinner . I'm a tad young for a wife at the moment unfortunately!

Have finally mounted the z-axis today, everything is shaping up. Ready to start on the electronics side, and mounting the motors. Then if all goes to plan, I should be on the finishing line? Here's some updated photos, again sorry for the quality.

Attachment 234208Attachment 234210Attachment 234212Attachment 234214Attachment 234216Attachment 234218Attachment 234220