587,173 active members*
3,971 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Help me get my Minitech working!
Page 1 of 4 123

Help me get my Minitech working!

I bought a used Minitech Mill2 and it did not come with much in the way of troubleshooting materials. I downloaded Mach 3 to control it. I have the parallel port hooked to my PC, the motor board hooked to the functioning power supply, and the control box plugged in. The spindle is plugged into the control box and runs, so power is making it there. The cooling fan turns on in the box when the power supply is turned on, so power is live there as well. After opening Mach and using the manual control screen (tab button) to test the movement, I'm left with nothing. No stepper motor movement, sound, nothing.

I am a total newb to this, so please help in laymen's terms. I don't know what to do to get this going!

I strongly suggest that you call Jack at Minitech. His website is: http://www.minitech.com He can get you going.

Good luck!

hey there, first thing ya need to do is relax. this will happen.
    go here
    www.minitech.com/support and download the mach3 that already has the ports and pins ect setup. you may have to play with motor tuning ect but first things first.

Do you have yahoo messenger?

*EDIT* I work closely with Jack on certain problems i am sure he is out of pocket right now, so I will gladly help you.

NOTES: with the minitech link I gave you, you can download not only the motion control software, but also the pdf documentation for the mill. It needs to be noted that the motion control software download is the demo version of mach 3 with the needed setup. if you own the license to mach3 it needs to be copied into the directory or it will limit you.
    I am open for some phone support if needed PM me for my phone number.